As a worker in the state of California, you need to know which laws pertain to your employment. For example, there are thousands upon thousands of minimum wage workers throughout the state.
Here are some of the most common questions pertaining to California minimum wage laws:
— What is the minimum wage in California at the present time? As of July 1, 2014, the minimum wage was increased to $9 per hour. This is set to increase to $10 per hour on the first day of 2016.
— Is an employee able to work for less than minimum wage? Even if an employee agrees to it, an employer is not permitted to pay a person less than the state’s minimum wage. It is unable to be waived regardless of the agreement between an employee and employer.
— Is the minimum wage rate the same for adults and minors? It is a common misconception that there is a different minimum wage based on the age of the worker. The state does not make any distinction based on age.
— Are employers permitted to count tips when calculating minimum wage? An employer is not legally permitted to credit tips toward the minimum wage rate.
These types of questions come up often, as many California employers start workers out at the minimum wage required by the state. It is essential for employers and employees alike to understand the finer details of the law. Workers who feel they are not being paid in accordance with the law have the right to discuss this with their company. If the situation is not handled according to how the worker thinks it should be handled, then he or she may want to seek the advice of an attorney.
Source: State of California, Department of Industrial Relations, “Minimum Wage,” accessed May. 19, 2015